How not to open InfoPath forms

Today I was assigned to modify an InfoPath form (used in some Windows Workflow 3.0 development) which was built by another developer whom we are no longer in contact with. I kept trying to open the form but kept getting an error which said:

"This form cannot be opened because it requires the domain permission level and it currently has restricted permission. Contact the form author to resolve the issue."

And another message which read:

"Forms that require the domain permission level contain features that access information on a network, such as data connections, linked images, and code."

As I had no means whatsoever to contact the form author to resolve the issue, I thought I would try and open it using different permissions, including different administrator roles, with no success at all.

By the time I finally hit Google to try and work out the solution I was pretty mad. All I wanted to do was just quickly edit a field in the form, and I couldn’t open the file due to some damn restrictions.

Then I found the solution: Right click on the file and select ‘Design’.

Damn double clicking on files. Clinton stupidity strikes again. I can’t believe I hadn’t done that in the first place.

This entry was posted in InfoPath and Workflow. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How not to open InfoPath forms

  1. Masha says:

    Thank you very much! You just saved my day :-)

  2. Steven says:

    Thanks ever so much, being new at InfoPath (my first form actually but it\’s for a rather important deployment on my SharePoint site) I was working at home and trying to open it for some weekend work (I love IT).  You saved me from having to bike into work and re-publish. Thanks again,Steven

  3. Jeremiah says:

    Thanks for the tip….the most obvious answers are often the most overlooked.

  4. Anthony says:

    I\’ve just spent an hour or two trying to sort this – wish I\’d found this earlier. Thanks for the post :-)

  5. Shelia says:

    Thanks so much I was looking every where for a fix. Thanks again you saved my day.

  6. Khaldoun says:

    Right Click…. that\’s it… after a long night !…. thanks man… I feel so stupid !

  7. Andrew says:

    Thank you for solution. Just right click. How long I’ve found it. Thank you again and again and again.

  8. Eddie says:

    Another thanks going your way!!!! Saved us time!

  9. Kris says:

    you are brilliant! saved me!! intern designed this form with permissions and left and gave no one access. LOL Thank you thank you

  10. Leroy Jenkins says:

    Thanks!

  11. If you are having an issue opening these files in regular mode for editing. Simply add the location where the templates are stored to your IE trusted sites.

  12. Mark Hanna says:

    Thanks, this was really starting to annoy me!

  13. Work says:

    Thanks for this, but it doesn’t help when you have 1000 people accessing a form and they do not have infopath designer.

    What is the solution to fix the problem rather than a work around (which unfortunately doesn’t work here).

    As you can tell – i’m also frustrated by this problem!

  14. dany says:

    Simple comment but big help for me
    Thank you very much

  15. Reblogged this on The Geeky Code-Run and commented:
    Save yourself some really frustrating hours with this great tip!

  16. Saved the day!

    Thanks. :)

  17. TZ says:

    Thanks so much!

  18. Mohammad Basha says:

    Hello, It will work fine for 1 form library. But what, if you are facing exactly same issue with more than 1 form library. I guess, Opening in Design mode for all the libraries is not a right solution.

  19. David Lutz says:

    Saved my day also…thanks!

Leave a Reply

